I’ve been busy doing nothing

Its been a while since I updated this and I really do not know where the time has gone. Whilst going back to work has limited my crafting time I am still managing to fit some in.

I’m going to start with what I haven’t been doing, Spinning. I now have a good stash of fibre and I was  lucky enough to get a blending board and a jumbo flyer for Christmas. I have so many plans for the yarns I want to spin but this always seems to go to the bottom of the list. I am going to try and finish my black and mallard by the end of the month. At the moment the singles for the mallard, and one single for the black is spun. I still need to spin one black. I then plan to ply the mallard and the black singles separately, and then ply the two colours together.

On to the knitting. I have a confession to make, I am a serial starter. I see new patterns and just want to get started. Before long, I see something else and just want to get started. The process keeps repeating and I am in denial about the amount of WIPs I really have.  The projects I’m currently focusing on are;

Elijah. An extremely cute elephant softie designed by Ysolda Teague. I’m knitting him in Amy Butler belle organic dk shade 15. At the time of writing I have completed the head and started on the body.  I’m hoping to have him finished by the end of the week so I can take him on my trip north in time for my sisters birthday.

Cable and lace shawl. This is one of my designs. I completed a small version of this as a Christmas gift and I am now working on a larger version. This sample is being knitted in Easy Knits Twinkle DK and the shade is Crushed Charcoal.  Its a lovely yarn to work with. This is one of two patterns I plan to test and release this year.

Gra’s Socks. I first made Gra his first pair of socks in 2009. Since then he’s been through a number of pairs. These socks are ones I have designed just for him. They are made in a chunky yarn with a 2×2 rib pattern. I haven’t been happy with the heel on previous pairs and as a result I am making this pair with an improved heel. I also plan to test and release this pattern this year.

There isn’t much to tell about the sewing.  I’ve not done much recently and I plan to change that.  I have made two more skirts since my last post, a long denim skirt and a shorter corduroy one.  Both are work, but I seem to be living in the denim one.

I’ve been reading some sewing blogs and come across this one where the participants are attempting a garment a month. Its certainly been an inspiration and I will be making some tops and some more skirts.

Hopefully by my next post I will have some items to share.

Categories: knitting, Sewing, Spinning | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

